That 12-hour ride from Siniloan to Mansalay

So my students are doing their practicum class in Mansalay, Oriental Mindoro. They are doing the Climate and Disaster Risk Assessment of that local government unit, in partnership with the Housing and Land Regulatory Board. I am one of their faculty supervisors that, as the title implies, supervises the whole course.

They started their practicum class over a month now. I wasn’t able to send them to Mansalay because I was too busy with a lot of things then (which I do not even remember now.) Other professors from our department went with them. So by the time they are almost done with their task, I have, it’s an imperative, to go to them, to check how they did their tasks, and to send them back to their homes by the end of their deployment. In short, #titaduties. Hahahaha

calabarzon-mimaropa-bicol-locator-map_60ed9bfc7ad24d7792b1ba5b80f790c1

Location Map of CALABARZON and MIMAROPA (Source: http://www.rappler.com)

Their location was one region away from where I live. It used to be on the same region, Region IV, but later decided it needed to be separated (hahaha), thus CALABARZON becomes Region IV-A and MIMAROPA becomes Region IV-B. If you ask me, maybe authorities had a hard time figuring out what to call that Region. CALABARZONMIMAROPA is a mouthful, don’t you think? Hahahaha

screen-shot-2016-11-17-at-11-38-07-pm

Siniloan to Calamba, that’s 65.3 kms, hunnybunny! (Source: http://www.google.com/maps)

Coming from Laguna, at the far end at that, I had to travel to Batangas then to Oriental Mindoro. I left the house at around 7:30am going to Sta. Cruz, Laguna. That’s an hour jeepney ride, and I was asleep the whole time. From Sta. Cruz, Laguna to Calamba, that was another two hours considering the traffic from Los Banos. From Waltermart in Calamba, I took another ride to Turbina. I honestly had no idea how to get to Turbina before this.

At Turbina, I waited for another colleague that will accompany me to Mansalay. When he arrived, we headed for Batangas Port. We arrived there at 1:30pm and lined up to buy ticket for Calapan, Oriental Mindoro. We took the SuperCat Ferry and was scheduled to leave at 2pm. Surprisingly, the ferry left at EXACTLY 2pm. At 3pm, we were headed to Mansalay, Oriental Mindoro and we had no idea how many hours we still need.

orientalmindoro

From Calapan to Mansalay (Source: http://www.ati.da.gov.ph)

The van was full-packed up to the top! I was sitting next to a very huge person, and I wasn’t even small-built to begin with. My half butt was siting on one couch, the other half siting on the other couch, with some space in the middle hanging to nothing. Hahahaha. If I farted, the foul air would have come out freely. That would have been hilariously embarrassing. LOL

It took us another four hours to get to Mansalay, arriving 7:30pm. Finally, after 12 hours! The students welcomed us with dinner: warm rice, sauteed vegetables, and ice cream! Yeah! They briefed me with their final activities and then sent us to where we were going to stay for the next four days.

We arrived in the evening so we had no idea that we were housed near the beach. Yes, bes, beach!!! This is what welcomed us in the morning!

Mansalay.jpg

Mansalay, Oriental Mindoro (Photo by Xiaui Macagba, 2016)

My students are now burning the midnight oil polishing their presentation for tomorrow, while I’m blogging and taking their pictures. LOL!

Team Mansalay.jpg

#TeamMansalay with Mam Abet of HLURB and Sir Garret of DCERP-CHE

Good luck, guys! Kaya n’yo ‘yan! Hahaha #RoadToSablay

Leave a Reply

