Amateur

Amateur

July is my birthday month. And to celebrate my 35 years of being awesome, I held a photo exhibit at Likha Diwa Vegetarian and Seafood Restaurant. Why here? Well, it’s an artist’s haven and budding artists can hold any kind of exhibit there for free. Of course, if an artwork sells, the restaurant gets a cut from the sales. Fair enough.

Likha Diwa has been in business about early 2000, I think. It’s a common place for vegetarians like me. The food there was awesome. My most favorite dish in Likha is the Adobong Takway, which they stripped off their menu just recently. Sad. Still, the food there is great.

I made the reservation to hold the exhibit for July since last year because it is difficult to get a slot. They run the exhibit monthly, meaning they already have a roster of artists for a whole year. So unless I reserve early, there is a big chance that I don’t get the slot for July. So after En-en‘s exhibit last September 2014, I quickly asked them to reserve the month of July 2015 for me.

I actually had a hard time figuring out what would be the concept for the exhibit. Yes, I have many photos but I took them without thinking of any common theme. I have shots of the sea, the sunset, my travel experiences, my feet haha, and other things but there is no central theme whatsoever. So, para hindi na rin ako mahirapan mag-isip, I picked the title “AMATEUR”. Self-explanatory. Hahahaha.

Here are some of the photos:

Sunrise in Busuanga (2015) Photo by Xiaui Macagba

Sunrise in Busuanga (2015) Photo by Xiaui Macagba

Midday in Samar. (2014) Photo by Xiaui Macagba

Midday in Samar. (2014) Photo by Xiaui Macagba

Sunset in Coron (2015) Photo by Xiaui Macagba

Sunset in Coron (2015) Photo by Xiaui Macagba

The exhibit went well, I think. I was only able to visit twice –first when I set up the pictures on the wall, and second time was a week before July ends. My friends came to Likha to see the photos too. I also have feedback that other people liked them and was asking for me. Haha (Sorry, the photos are not for sale!)

Hanging by a moment at Likha Diwa

Hanging by a moment at Likha Diwa

By the way, the artist for August didn’t show up so my photos are still there in Likha Diwa until the end of August. So if you guys want to see how amateur I am, you still have a week to catch it. :)

Likha Diwa Vegetarian and Seafood Restaurant is located at Lt. J. Francisco St., Diliman, Quezon City. Chow!

Leave a Reply

